TBA Officers and Directors

Texas Beekeepers Association (TBA) is a member based organization representative of commercial, sideliner, and small-scale beekeepers, as well as scientists, educators and other individuals interested in the promotion and preservation of honey bees and beekeeping in the State of Texas.

Many of the TBA members are also members of their local beekeeping associations, the ABF (American Beekeeping Federation) and/or the AHPA (American Honey Producers Association), giving them experience and interest on the local and national level.

TBA has among its past presidents and directors a virtual who’s who of beekeeping. From major commercial beekeepers and queen breeders to leading educators, scientists, and businessmen, all have generously given their time and talent to lead TBA to the prominent position it holds in the state and the nation.

As a volunteer organization we are constantly seeking talent to help make our organization better. If you’re interested in volunteering – please fill out this form.


President, Byron Compton
Owner @ Sweet Texas Gold
Vice President, Gary Barber
Owner @ Honey Bees Unlimited
Secretary, Leesa Hyder
Since 2016
Treasurer, Russell Kaskel
Since 2023


Director, Teri Albright
Owner @ HiSide Honey
Director, Tim Branam
Owner @ Three Bees Apiary
Director, Nan Helmke
Owner @ Belton Bees
Director, Andy Knight
Owner @ Magnolia Bee & Supply LLC
Director, Jake Moore
Beekeeper @ Moore Honey Farms
Director, Barbi Rose

Other Directors & Advisors:

Dodie Stillman
Past President, Dodie Stillman
Bee Educator & Advocate
General Counsel, Kaye Brouse
Publications Director, Michelle Boerst
Owner @ Bursting Bees Farm
Membership, Shirley Doggett