The Texas Beekeepers Association’s purpose is to promote the common interests, the betterment of conditions, and the general welfare of beekeeping. We have a long-standing tradition of honoring beekeepers and those that contribute to the industry through awards given to individuals who embody this mission.

Each award recognizes a different area of our industry as well as individual missions that promote the general welfare of beekeeping.

Lifetime Memberships

Awarded for Meritorious Service to the Texas Beekeepers Association

2023 – Jimmie & Kay Oakley
2022 – None awarded
2021 – Gene “E.T.” Ash & Jane Packard, Mike Hatch, Myra Smith
2020 – Beth Derr, Ron Gumm & Dennis M. Herbert
2019 – Timothy S. Elliott
2018 – Myrta Kaye Brouse & Leesa Hyder
2017 – Bill D. Baxter, Dick Counts & Weldon Riggs
2016 – Stanford S. Brantley, Chris & Shirley Doggett, James Garner, John J. Talbert & John G. & Janice Thomas

President’s Award

This award recognizes an individual or several individuals, deemed by the TBA president to have made such a singular contribution to TBA and the Texas Beekeeping Industry as to have earned this recognition.

Jim Petty “Beekeeper of the Year”

This award was established in 1974 by Mary Petty in memory of her husband, Jim Petty, who was killed in an accident involving a truckload of bees. He was a well-liked, highly respected beekeeper in the state of Texas. The award is given to a member of Texas Beekeepers Association for outstanding service to the professional beekeeping industry.

John G. Thomas Meritorious Service Award

This award is given to a non-commercial beekeeper, researcher, regulator, industry or individual who has had a major impact on TBA and the Texas bee community.

YearPresident’s AwardJim Petty “Beekeeper of the Year”John G. Thomas Meritorious Service
2023Julie Haza & Leesa HyderGary BarberWeldon Riggs
2022Dodie Stillman & Barbi RoseCharlie AgarMichael Kelling
2021Rebecca VaughanGene “E.T.” AshMary Reed
2020Mike HatchChuck Reburn & Tanya PhillipsJuliana Rangel
2019Roger FarrAshley RalphTim Elliott
2018Ashley RalphBlake ShookLeesa Hyder
2017Leesa HyderHarrison Rogers
2016James & Chari ElamLisa Dittfurth
2015Shirley DoggettShirley Doggett
2014Mark HedleyChris MooreChris Doggett
2013Chris DoggettBlake ShookVi Bourns
2012Todd YoungbloodEd Priest
2011John TalbertLavada Talbert
2010Monica DelisaBeth WalkerHenry Graham
2009Chad WoottonElbert Youngblood Jr.Janice Thomas
2008Shirley AcevedoJoan CoplinShirley Acevedo
2007Henry GrahamStanford S. Brantley
2006Joan CoplinMark BradyKay Oakley
2005Todd YoungbloodDick Counts
2004Ernest CaldwellTed VanceJoan Coplin
2003G.C. Walker IIDanny BoundsClarence Shepard
2002David GrinnanClint Walker IIITed Vance
2001Ernest CaldwellMrs. Dean Brittingham
2000Dean & James BrittinghamRandy JohnsonJimmie Oakley & Linda Smith
1999Jimmie OakleyA.J. FucikDave & Debbie Grinnan
1998Jack PadgettGlenn MaceDr. Frank Eischen
1997Janice & Dr. John G. ThomasMark BradyJohn Talbert
1996Dr. Frank EischenMoina MaserangRobert Hutchinson
1995Margie CoplinMorris WeaverBarbara Corbin
1994Henry GrahamL. John MilamTravis Lane
1993Rep. Renato CuellarO.T. StroopeCarole Booth
1992Dr. Foden MaxwellE.L. WalkerDr. John G. Thomas
1991Glenn MaceElbert Youngblood Sr.
1990Dr. William T. WilsonMel & Margie Coplin
1989Dr. John G. Thomas
1988Howard Weaver & Sons
1987Mary Petty
1986Roy S. Weaver Jr.
1985Curtis Meier
1984Charles Engle
1983Binford Weaver
1982Howard Weaver
1981G.C. Walker II
1980Richard Harkey
1979Steve Coplin
1978Loys O. Milam
1977Walter Barth
1976Roy S. Weaver Sr.